An advocate for homeowner associations on our panel observes: 
 "Condominium and Property Owners’ Associations are representative democracy in action – elected volunteers donate their time and talents for the greater good.  When owners and residents are active and engaged in their Associations, there are no better advocates for the aesthetic and financial integrity of their communities." 

Others see associations as less benign as private citizens on association boards seem to wield powers similar to a government.  Lawsuits have broken out over whether an owner could build a treehouse (Westridge), post a sign supporting the candidate of one's choice (Alexandria), display an American flag on a mailbox (Montclair) or have a mailbox that wasn't metal and monogrammed with the letter W (Bowie, Md.).  In the latter case, brought by one of our panelists, 96% of the homeowners had incurred a cost of $500 each for the mandated mailboxes before his legal challenge was decided by the court.   

Is the protection of property value worth the surrender of individual choice to architectural review boards and the like?  What mechanisms are there to keep leaders of homeowner associations from "going too far?"  Do new laws like the 2015 Virginia Homeowner Bill of Rights restore the balance of power? 

The distinguished panel:


Sheyna Burt

 Manassas attorney, who focuses on representing homeowner associations 


Dr. Keith Strong, Bowie, Md.

  Scientist and homeowner, who recently won a judgment against his homeowner



Sen. Scott Surovell

 Fairfax Co. attorney, who represents homeowners challenging decisions of homeowner associations


Gayle Whitlock 

Lake Ridge Business Woman 



John Harms

Committee of 100 Treasurer,

A military lawyer residing in the Montclair community  


Members and Public Invited


Carol Proven: carol.proven01@gmail.com

Please note:  An RSVP is requested from everyone for planning purposes only.

There is no charge for the program.

Dinner is $25.00/person for members, $30 for non-members.

February 2017
Thanks to What's up Woodbridge for this great video!

YouTube Video

 Prince William Committee of 100-2016-2017 Program Year

      The  Prince William Committee of 100 provides a non-partisan, educational forum to study essential interests, problems and goals of the people of Prince William County, Manassas and Manassas Park
 New and Renewing memberships, only $30.00 per year. 

Let us hear from you. Click here to send your suggestions

COMMUNICATION  page for reference to online forms for membership applications and change of directory data.

CURRENT NEWS Delegate Rich Anderson, presented a joint House-Senate Memorial Resolution celebrating the life of the late William H. (Bill) Mastbrook, one of the founders of PWC-100.

RESERVATIONS page for instructions on making reservations to our dinners and programs.

We have just concluded our 26th year of service to Prince William County and the cities of Manassas and Manassas Park with another year of great programs focusing on elections and issues of interest to the local communities. 

Subpages (55): View All